Maurita Coley Flippin

Maurita Coley Flippin is Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President of Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council (MMTC).  As a senior executive with over 20 years of experience in the media, telecommunications, and entertainment industries, she joined the Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council (MMTC) in 2012 to assist in reshaping the organization’s mission and vision to improve diversity and inclusion in a new digital economy.  She serves as the senior subject matter expert for a U.S. Department of Labor National Equity Partnership contract between the National Urban League, the Wireless Infrastructure Association, and MMTC to provide apprenticeships in the wireless telecom industry to the un- and under-employed.

Prior to joining MMTC, Maurita served as Executive Director of Capital Area Asset Builders, a nonprofit financial literacy leader in Washington, DC metropolitan area.  In this capacity, Maurita led several programs that provided job skills and entrepreneurship training, financial literacy courses, and tax preparation services, deploying over 500 volunteers to serve over 6,000 low-income residents of the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia each year.  She is a former partner with the Davis Wright Tremaine and the Cole, Raywid & Braverman law firms, where her practice included representing as many as 40 cable television programming networks, multichannel video programming distributors (MVPDs), satellite distributors, and the leading minority venture capital company investing in the media and telecom industries. She served on the executive management team of BET Holdings, Inc., owner of the popular Black Entertainment Television Networks. In 2017, she was the recipient of a CableFax Top Lawyer award, and she was acknowledged by as one of 200 Black Women in Tech to Follow on Twitter. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in Communications from Michigan State University, and a Juris Doctor from the Georgetown University Law Center where she has received the top alumni and alumnae awards.